About Us

JR Trains Honored at 11th Brunel Awards

East Japan Railway Company

August 10, 2011

East Japan Railway Company (JR East) is being honored at the 11th Brunel Awards, receiving awards for the E5 Series Shinkansen train (for Hayabusa service) and E259 Series conventional line limited express train (for N’EX Narita Express service), and also winning a commendation for the HB-E300 Series diesel hybrid train (for resort train service).

JR East also won an award at the previous such event, and its trains have been honored since the 253 Series (for N’EX Narita Express service) received an award at the 4th Brunel Awards.
The commendation ceremony is scheduled for October 14 in Washington, D.C.

JR East winning entries at the 11th Brunel Awards

Category Award Commendation
Rolling stock E5 Series (for Hayabusa service)
E259 Series (for N’EX service)
HB-E300 Series
(for resort train service)

E5 Series


E259 Series


HB-E300 Series

E5 Series   E259 Series   HB-E300 Series

[Reference] Past JR East winning entries at Brunel Awards

Holding of Brunel Awards Year Winning entries from JR East
Award Commendation
3rd 1989 Map from station 651 Series (for Super Hitachi service), station gallery, Shimbashi Station tip toilet
4rd 1992 253 Series (for N’EX service)
5rd 1994 255 Series (for Boso Limited Express service), 209 Series (commuter train)
"Utage" train with Japanese-style furnishings
6rd 1996 Iwaki-Hanawa Station, E217 series (suburban train)
9rd 2005 Saitama-Shintoshin Station, full-color LED (information display)
10rd 2008 Passenger restroom maintenance Hoshakuji Station, emergency information display
* The Brunel Awards Competition is the only international railway design competition in the world. It was established by the Watford Group, which brings together railway design professionals from about 20 countries. The awards are named after Isambard Kingdom Brunel, first head engineer of the Great Western Railway. He left behind a body of work that includes excellent stations, other buildings and ships.